PD Accreditation Process

CSTA CS Teachers at PDcurates quality professional learning opportunities for K-12 computer science teachers. We aim to make it easy for CS teachers who have different needs and goals to find relevant PD opportunities through an interactive web display. We also display information about associated curriculum alongside the PD opportunities.


CSTA will publish an updated list of quality programs approximately each quarter. Teachers can filter opportunities based on their grade level, experience level, course alignment, cost, and mode of delivery (e.g., online or in-person), and they can search more specific criteria. They can click a card to view more detailed information about PD and the associated curriculum and visit the program website.

Quality PD Indicators

An independent committee of experts evaluates submissions using a detailed rubric aligned to indicators of quality computer science PD from Vallaincourt & Schanzer (2018) and elements of effective teacher PD from Darling-Hammond, Hyler, & Gardner (2017):

  • Content Focus
  • Active Learning
  • Collaboration
  • Differentiation
  • Models & Modeling
  • Inclusivity
  • Accessibility
  • Feedback & Reflection
  • Efficacy
  • Ongoing Support
  • Sustained Duration
Our goal is not to “measure” PD, but rather to define a minimum level of quality and give providers multiple dimensions by which to demonstrate it.

Review Process

  1. Any provider can submit one or more programs for review at no cost by submitting an online form.
  2. Three or more committee members independently review each submission using a rubric aligned to indicators of quality PD.
  3. The committee discusses outstanding discrepancies and conducts additional reviews as needed.
  4. All submissions meeting the minimum threshold as defined by the committee will be included in the display. Co-chairs communicate results and feedback to providers.
More information about the accreditation process and trends from the reviews are shared in a SIGCSE 2022 paper: Trends in CS Teacher Professional Development: A Report from the CSTA PD Committee.

If you'd like to join the CSTA PD Committee for a three-year volunteer term, complete the CSTA volunteer application. New members will be added each fall.

Submission Deadlines

We welcome PD opportunity submissions nine months out of the year. The submission form will be closed from Sept. 1 to Nov. 30 to allow the PD Committee time to revise the accreditation rubric and process; an updated submission form will be available by early December. The PD Committee conducts four reviews during the year, with the following submission deadlines:

  • August 31, for publishing by September 30

  • January 4, for publishing by January 31

  • February 28, for publishing by March 31

  • April 30, for publishing by May 31


The CSTA PD committee includes a diverse and esteemed group of experts who independently develops and maintains a trusted list of quality PD opportunities that are driven by the needs of CS teachers. Committee members include teachers, teacher supporters (e.g., administrators, coaches), researchers, and PD providers. In addition to reviewing submissions, the committee will also continuously improve the process and display, research and report on trends among current opportunities, and provide guidance for and community among PD providers.
If you'd like to join the CSTA PD Committee for a three-year volunteer term, complete the CSTA volunteer application. New members will be added each fall.
  • James Koontz, West Springfield ES / Fairfax County Public Schools

  • Lea Sloan, CodeHS

  • Abigail Joseph, Oracle Education Foundation (chair emeritus)

  • Jennifer Albert, The Citadel

  • Quiana Bannerman, Prince George's County Public Schools

  • Deena Crawford, SAM Labs

  • Cathleen Edgar, West Bridgewater Middle Senior High School

  • Deborah Kariuki, University of Maryland Baltimore County

  • Stephen King, Kansas State Department of Education

  • Katie Mills, TreePeople; previously: USC Viterbi School of Engineering

  • Francesco Maiorana, IISS G.B. Vaccarini

  • Jared O'Leary, JaredOLeary.com (host of #CSK8 podcast); previously: BootUp

Past Chairs
  • Miles Berry, University of Roehampton

  • Michelle Friend, University of Nebraska Omaha

  • Emmanuel Schanzer, Bootstrap World

  • Beverly Vaillancourt, PowerUp Design, previously: Zulama

Past Members
  • Carol L Fletcher, The University of Texas at Austin

  • Michelle Lagos, American School of Tegucigalpa

  • Dawn Morrison, Alabama Department of Education

  • Laura Peters, Creative Computing Lab & Boston Public Schools

  • Andrea M Robertson-Nottingham, Code.org

  • Andrew Rothman, San Francisco Unified School District

  • Kim Wilkens, Tech-Girls and UVA School of Education

  • Hana Zimmerman Karl, Open University of Israel