The CSTA Equity Fellowship is a selective, year-long program designed to develop leadership in equitable teaching practices and advocacy. The program will both provide leadership development opportunities to the fellows and identify opportunities for the group to develop ongoing, peer-to-peer professional learning experiences focused on addressing issues of equity in the computer science classrooms for all CSTA members.

We are currently reviewing applications for the 2020-21 Equity Fellowship and will announce the next cohort in September. We expect to open applications for the 2021-22 cohort in July 2021.

2019-20 Equity FellowsInaugural Cohort of Equity Fellows

Selected Projects

Create Equity in CS Education Website
CS Playground course map
Create Equity in CS Education
Cindy Wong and Todd Lash synthesized seven key themes for how to promote Equity in K-12 CS education based on countless interviews and discussions with Equity Fellows and other leaders. Their website provides quotes, descriptions, strategies, and resources for each of these themes.
CS Playground: Equity & Exploration
Noelle Valentine created this semester-long professional development course for 6-12 CS educators. The assignments alternate weekly between relevant equity discussions and creative coding projects on a range of popular platforms. It was first offered in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District in Spring 2020 and will be pushed out statewide in 2021 to support the professional growth of all Alaskan CS educators.
CS is... posters Conceptual Framework
Demystifying CS
Dr. Abigail Joseph created several social media and poster campaigns to expel myths, broaden definitions, open possibilities, and start conversations to encourage integration of CS into every classroom. Download her posters:
The Value of Unit Zero
Charity Freeman developed resources and strategies to build a strong classroom culture that values all student identities. The first few weeks of a CS course are key to establishing trust, procedures, and community. This begins with the syllabus and course design.
Voice articles by Equity Fellows
Developing Culturally Responsive Curriculum
Shana V. White and Michelle G. Lee developed a process and framework for creating anti-racist, culturally responsive, and student affirming curriculum. They led workshops on Friday, July 24, 2020:


CSTA’s Equity Fellowship is made possible in partnership with Microsoft and Pluralsight One.