Posted by Dan Blier on May 20, 2021
This year, CSTA+ members voted to elect three representatives to their Board of Directors. We’d like to take the opportunity to announce the newest and continuing members.

Full Story

This year, CSTA+ members voted to elect three representatives to their Board of Directors. We’d like to take the opportunity to announce the newest and continuing members of the CSTA Board of Directors:

K-8 Representative

Kaplan Audra HeadshotAudra Kaplan (new)
Grades 5 & 6 Computer Science Teacher, Digital Learning Coach
Groton Dunstable School District, Groton, Massachusetts
Audra Kaplan is a Google for Education Certified Trainer, Digital Learning Coach and Computer Science teacher for the Groton-Dunstable Regional School District, and Co-President of CSTA Greater Boston chapter. She’s an online graduate instructor for Ed Technology Specialists and Andrews University with a master’s degree from Lesley University in Educational Technology as well as a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Southern Connecticut State University. Kaplan is a conference presenter across New England and in New York. Prior to completing her degree and becoming a technology integrator, Kaplan spent over 20 years in the classroom teaching ELL, ELA, Social Development, Science, Math, and Computer Literacy classes. At Groton-Dunstable Kaplan works to integrate technology into student and staff learning and teaches Digital Literacy and Computer Science at the middle school. She was recognized as one of 100 teachers nationally by NCWIT and the NSF for her efforts to support Computer Science in Education.
When away from school Audra enjoys spending time with her family, helping others, learning new things, and exploring the world.  Follow her on Twitter @AudraKaplan.
9-12 Representative 
Art Lopez HeadshotArt Lopez (continuing) 
Lead Curriculum Specialist Computer Science 
Sweetwater Union High School District, Chula Vista, California
Art is a bilingually credentialed (Spanish) 9 – 12 computer science teacher with 34 years of experience. Hehas taught AP CSP and AP CS A, and is the district TOSA for Computer Science. He has and is currently serving as the 9-12 representative on CSTA’s Board of Directors and is the President of the CSTA-San Diego chapter. Lopez is also the project manager for Coding our Future project, which is developing/creating a 3rd – 8th grade open source computer science curriculum/training program. He is a consultant for the College Board AP CSP course, working as an APSI instructor, Instructional Design committee, a table leader for the reading, and is an author of one of the Course Planning and Pacing Guides. Lopez is a member of the CSAwesome RPP Team for AP CS A, and is a master teacher for the curriculum. He has been a reviewer of a proposal for the NSF for CS education, and is a master teacher/trainer/curriculum developer for UCSD CREATE and the San Diego SupercomputerCenter (Education). Lopez has also taught a PD Teacher course for UCI for teachers and undergraduates interested in teaching AP CSP. The Obama Administration selected him as one of the top 100 Computer Science Educators in the USA and an initial member of the CS for All Initiative (2017).

At-Large Representative

Michelle Friend HeadshotMichelle Friend (continuing) 
Assistant Professor
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Michelle Friend is an Assistant Professor in the Teacher Education Department at the University of Nebraska Omaha. Her research focuses on equity in computer science, particularly young women’s interest in computing careers from middle school through adulthood, and on interdisciplinary connections between computer science and other disciplines to enhance learning in each. She received her Ph.D. from the Stanford University Graduate School of Education in Learning Science and Technology Design, and holds Master of Information Science, Bachelor of Biochemistry, and Bachelor of Science Education degrees from Indiana University. She previously taught computer science at The Girls’ Middle School in Mountain View, CA, and was the first female president of the Computer Science Teachers Association.
These two continuing and one new Board member will begin serving their two-year terms starting in July 2021. We appreciate their service and the service of all volunteers who help CSTA promote and support K-12 CS education. Thank you to our CSTA+ members for taking the time to ensure their voice was heard. Congratulations to our new representatives!