Each year, CSTA and the Infosys Foundation USA host the CS Teaching Excellence Awards, which recognize 10 winners, five honorable mentions, and winners at the regional level. The CS Teaching Excellence Awards are designed to recognize outstanding teaching by K-12 computer science teachers. Winners excel in inspiring students to explore the computer science field, engaging students in learning rigorous standards-aligned computer science content, and broadening the participation of underrepresented students in computing. These awards were made possible by a grant from Infosys Foundation USA.

Meet this year’s regional CS Teaching Excellence award winners:

CSTA illinois
  • April Schermann, 9-12 teacher at Normal West High School
  • Keith Dumbleton, 9-12 teacher at George Westinghouse College Prep High School
  • Madeline Gerena Franco, 9-12 teacher at Whitney Young High School
CSTA new england
  • Jonathan Graffius, 9-12 teacher at Deering High Scool
  • Kismet Cherie Fair, 6-12 teacher at Claremont Academy
  • Laura Peters, 9-12 teacher at Somerville Public Schools
CSTA new jersey
  • Emily Grantham, 6-8 teacher at Deptford Middle School
  • Rebekah Collipp, 6-12 teacher at Villa Walsh Academy, and AP Homeschoolers Online
  • Roshell Gordon, 9-12 teacher at Franklin High School
Four Corners
  • Harry Knight, 9-12 teacher at Fountain Ft. Carson High School
  • Julie Morales, K-5 teacher at Estancia Elementary
  • Katherine Anne McDonnell, 9-12 teacher at Overland High School

Congratulations again to our 2024 Regional Teaching Excellence Award Winners!