Each year, CSTA and the Infosys Foundation USA host the CS Teaching Excellence Awards, which recognize 10 winners, five honorable mentions, and winners at the regional level. The CS Teaching Excellence Awards are designed to recognize outstanding teaching by K-12 computer science teachers. Winners excel in inspiring students to explore the computer science field, engaging students in learning rigorous standards-aligned computer science content, and broadening the participation of underrepresented students in computing. These awards were made possible by a grant from Infosys Foundation USA.

Meet this year’s regional CS Teaching Excellence award winners:

CSTA Arizona
  • Kim Alvin De Lara, K–5 teacher at Butterfield Elementary School
  • Tyrone James Joe,  K–5 teacher at Sanders Unified School District #18 / Sanders Elementary School
CSTA Indiana
  • Jennifer Steward, K–8 teacher at Maxwell Intermediate School
  • Ryan Friederich, 6–8 teacher at Forest City Middle School
  • Kyle Kuhlers, 9–12 teacher at Waterloo Schools
  • Emily Lewis, K–5 teacher at West Des Moines Community Schools – Crestview School of Inquiry
CSTA Miami
  • Mark Godinez, 9–12 teacher at South Dade Senior High
  • Wanda Latrice Jones, 6–8 teacher at Nova Middle School
  • Daniel T. Jones, 6–8, 9–12 teacher at Whispering Pines Educational Center/Broward County Public Schools
CSTA New England
  • Charlie MacFadyen, 9–12 teacher at Champlain Valley Union HS
  • Joanna Marcotte, 9–12 teacher at Franklin High School
  • Priya Rajagopal, 9–12 teacher at Connecticut River Academy
CSTA New Jersey
  • Richard J. Bell, 9–12 teacher at Cranford High School
  • Atiyah Conry, 9–12 teacher at Sayreville War Memorial HS
  • Maria Filipe, K–5 teacher at School 28
CSTA South Carolina
  • Courtney Dickerson Sheriff, K–5 teacher at James M. Brown Elementary
  • Lizabeth Nelson Webber, K–5 teacher at Okatie Elementary School
CSTA Wyoming
  • Sara D. Schnell, K–8 teacher at Pine Bluffs Elementary
Four Corners
  • Ann Root, 9–12 teacher at Centaurus High School
  • Ramsey Seweingyawma, 6–8, 9–12 teacher at Whitehorse High School
  • Brian Smith, 9–12 teacher at Santa Fe High School

Congratulations again to our 2023 Regional Teaching Excellence Award Winners!